Homowo Festival

  • Homowo

Attraction Category: See Ghana, Cultural Sites, and FestivalsAttraction Tags: #Homowo2020, 2019 homowo, accra, dangbe, festivals in ghana, ga, ga homowo, gas, homowo, Homowo 2020, and homowo festival

  • About Homowo

    The word Homowo (Homo – hunger, wo – hoot) can mean “to hoot (or jeer) at hunger” in the Ga language. The tradition of Homowo started with a period of hunger leading to famine due to failure of the seasonal rains needed by crops in the Greater Accra Region, where the Ga people predominantly dwell. When the rains returned to normal, the Ga people celebrated by creating the Homowo festival, hence its name and meaning. Homowo is greatly celebrated in all the towns in the Ga state with celebrations climaxing in Gamashie. The celebration begins with the planting of maize, which will be used in preparing the food for the festival named Kpokpoi or Kpekple. During this period, noise making is prohibited or banned since it is believed that it disturbs the gods. The meal is eaten with Palm Nut Soup and it is also sprinkled within the town. This is normally done by traditional leaders and family heads. Celebration includes marching down roads and streets beating drums, chanting, face painting, singing and traditional dances. Even though the celebration of Homowo is a Ga tradition, many other ethnic groups are welcomed to also join in the celebration. The homowo festival of the Ga tribe is believed to have a lineage from the Jewish tribe and its ancestral tradition of the Jewish Passover feast.

    Some of the towns that celebrate Homowo are La, Teshie, Nungua, Osu, Ga-Mashie, Tema among others.

    1. Dantu we – Monday 6th May,

    2. Sakumɔ we – Tuesday 7th May,

    3. Korle we / Gbese – Friday 10th May, 2019

    4. Gua we – Saturday 11th May, 2019

    5. Naede we – Sunday 12th May, 2019

    6. Nae we – Tuesday 14th May, 2019

    1. Dantu we – Monday 13th May, 2019

    2. Sakumɔ we – Tuesday 14th May, 2019

    3. Korle we / Gbese – Friday 17th May, 2019

    4. Gua we – Saturday 18th May, 2019

    5. Naede we – Sunday 19th May, 2019

    6. Nae we – Tuesday 21st May, 2019

    1. Dantu we – Monday 3rd June, 2019

    2. Sakumɔ we – Tuesday 4th June, 2019

    3. Korle we / Gbese – Friday 7th June, 2019

    4. Gua we – Saturday 8th June, 2019

    5. Naede we – Sunday 9th June, 2019

    6. Nae we – Tuesday 11th June, 2019

    BAN ON DRUMMING AND NOISE MAKING – Monday 13th May, 2019.


    PURIFICATION OF THE SEA – Tuesday 30th July, 2019.

    1. Nungua – Saturday 6th July, 2019

    2. Lante Dzan we – Saturday 3rd August, 2019

    3. Tema – Friday 9th August, 2019

    4. Ga Mashi – Friday 17th August, 2019

    5. Osu – Tuesday 27th August, 2019

    6. La – Tuesday 27th August, 2019

    7. Teshi – Tuesday 27th August, 2019

    8. Kpone – Tuesday 27th August, 2019

    9. Prapram – Tuesday 27th August, 2019

    10. Ningo – Tuesday 27Tuesday 27th August, 2019

    compiled by :
    Patrick Malox Nikoi Neequaye



    About the GA’s

    The Ga land from its origins has been divided into three principal divisions namely,
    1. Ga Mashi (Accra)
    2 Dangme (to the east and north), and
    3 Obutu or Awutu to the (east).

    The Ga Traditional Council comprise of the following:
    1 Ga Mantse (Head)
    2 Gbese
    3 Asere
    4 Abola
    5 Otublohum
    6 Sempe
    7 Ngleshi
    8 Akunmadzen
    9 Ngleshie Alata
    10 Osu
    11 La
    12 Teshie
    13 Nungua
    14 Tema
    15 Nai Wulomo
    16 Sakumo Wulomo
    17 Korle Wulomo

    OSU: The clans of Osu are:
    1 Osu Alata
    2 Osu Ashanti
    3 Anecho
    4 Kinkawe

    The first settlers of Teshie migrated from Teshie in Togo by Nuumo Trebi, and followed by Nuumo Nmati and his followers from La; followed by Nuumo Martey and his followers from Prampram; followed by some strangers from Fanti land (mainly fishermen), and other strangers from Ga Mashi in central Accra.
    The clans of Teshie are as follows:
    1. Numo Trebi we; 2.Numo Nmati we; 3.Numo Martey we; Krobo; 4 Krobo; 5.Kle Musum; 6. Agbawe; 7.Bajoku; and 8. Akoble and others

    LA: Akutsei or Clans of La are as follows:
    1) Abese; 2) Kwei (Koi); 3) Abafun; 4) Nmati; 5) Lenshi; 6)Klan Naa; 7) Saishi/Anecho and others

    NUNGUA: Has two main faction, the Amanfa and Sanshi. From these two factions are formed eight clans of Nungua. The eight clans of Nungua are as follows:
    1) Nii Mantse We; 2) Nii Moi We; 3) Nii Borte We; 4) Nii Adzin We;
    5) Nii Borkwei We; 6) Nii Osokrono We; 7)Nii Odarteitse We; Nii Djenge We.

    KPONE/TEMA MUNICIPALITY: comprises of the following clan:
    1) Bediako We; 2) Kojo We; 3) Sanshi We.

    ADA: Ada traditional format is like the other GaDangme subnations format. The are clans, clan houses, clan names coupled with divinities for each clan house and each clan. The two main divisions of ADA are Big Ada and Ada Foah. Ada clans are as follows: 1) Adibia We; 2) Lomobia We; 3) Tekperbia We; 4) Dangmebia We; 5) Ohuewen; 6) Korgbo; 7 Kudragbe; Kabiawetsu; 9) Kabiawemu; 10) Kpono.

    DANGME TRADITIONAL AREAS: These include Ningo, Kpone, Osudoku, Prampram (Gbugbla), Agotime and Dodowa.

    NINGO: The clans of Ningo traditional areas are as follows:
    1) Lowerkpono; 2) Salosisi; 3) Tawiah Kwetey; 4) Adela; 5) Odoi;
    6) Odoi; 7) Old Ningo; Labiawer clan and Lowerkpon.

    PRAMPRAM: The clans of Prampram are as follows:
    1) Dawhenya(Kle Chawenya); 2)Afienya (Kle); 3) Miotso (Lakpler); 4) Mobole (Kle); 5)Mataheko (Akuble); 6) Ablekuma (Lakpler); Obetseklu (Klu)

    KROBO: The traditonal areas of Krobo comprise of Numo Awuley Kwao; Kwaku Darpoh; Tetteh Djan; and Miotso. Krobo has two main divisions, namely Yilo Krobo and Manya Krobo. Krobo clans are as follows: 1) Dawhenya; 2) Afienya (Kle); 3) Miotso; 4) Mobole (Kle); 5) Mataheko (Akuble); 6)Ablekuma(Kakple) and 7)Obtseklu.

    AWUTU/Obutu. Awutu comprises of Awutu Breku and Awutu Effutu. The clans of Awutu are:
    1)Rumanian; 2) Dwomona; 3) Nzakara; 4) Kirundi; 5)Avikam; 6) Kissandaui; 7) Awutua; Twidan; 9)Bimoba and 10) Mo clan.


    1. Homowo Festival
    2. Awutu Awubia Festivals
    3 Krobo Festivals are: Kloyosikplemi; Ngmayem; Lapomi and
    Kadoba Fiame.
    4. Ada celebrate Asafotufiam; Ngmayem
    5. Nungua celebrates KLEDZO Festival.



    Otufo in Ga traditional areas.
    Dipo in Dangme traditional areas
    Both Otufo and Dipo are the same customs and they mark the passage of girls into womanhood by performing a series of rites.